#MHAMBC Migraine & Headache Awareness Month #23: Bruce Almighty: How does spirituality and/or religion help you cope?

June Migraine awareness month

I was not raised in a quote “Religion” but I was raised w/Christian beliefs and morals. My dad was a Baptist and my mom was a Catholic. They were not in favor of each religion stating they were the “only” religion and one was better than the other-or the age-old belief “If you don’t believe in the way we do your destined for Hell“.

I am a Christian and was Baptized later in life, but I am non-denominational. I do not preach any particular religion is the “be all” and “end all”. I believe that as long as you believe in God, profess your belief, read the bible and practice in a loving Christian matter then you have nothing to fear.

I use prayer a lot when suffering with chronic pain. But I also Meditate as well, as was taught to me by my Therapist and by a former Chiropractor I had seen years ago who is no longer in this area 😦  There are quote “Christians” or other “Religions” that frown on Meditation saying it’s not practicing the Christian Faith. I brush that off as ignorance and often brain-washing, as when people are brought up in certain “Religions” they are repeatedly told what they are supposed to believe in and what they are not and they are not given free will to choose their own way and they refuse to see any way but their way. I think that is so wrong!

But I will look up verses, read them, repeat them and pray. Then I will use Meditation to try to make it through the pain-sometimes I will silently chant a favorite verse over and over and focus on the meaning of it, and other times I will use visualization instead. But I do think that one is entitled to their own beliefs and thought process and I will not bash those who don’t believe the way I do.

But I do think that using these methods is not wrong and I believe that whatever helps someone cope and make it through the pain is a must-needed component to this Chronic Disease. You need something to give you guidance. And I do often send out prayers to those in my support groups who are suffering so and I offer up prayer for them, as well as in Bible Study Group. I do think prayer is important and how you practice it is up to you-each individual.

Blessings to you all.

Learn more about the MHAM Blog Challenge and 

Other MHAM events by visiting:

2013 Migraine & Headache Awareness Month Information Page

June, Migraine and Headache Awareness Month, is dedicated to Unmasking the Mystery of Chronic Headache Disorders. The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is issued by FightingHeadacheDisorders.com.

Leave a Reply

