#MHAMBC Migraine & Headache Awareness Blog Challange Month #22: Walk the Line

June Migraine awareness month

Walk the Line: How do you balance the need to avoid your
Migraine/Headache Disorder triggers with the equally powerful need to enjoy the
things that give your life meaning?

When my Episodic Migraines turned Chronic in 2010 I thought my life was over. It disrupted everything completely. I could no longer work, socialize in public, go shopping, go out to the movies or do anything that “normal” people do for fear of having a Migraine Trigger set off by loud sounds, noise or bright flickering lights. I was also incapacitated with frequent panic attacks and I’d often get lost if I did try to drive around on my own to places I’ve lived near and traveled since living in this area in 1974.

When I first became Chronic we had planned a trip to Tennessee to the Great Smokey Mountains just before our anniversary and I was tempted to cancel, but my husband prompted me to go since it was a driving trip. I would not have been able to handle a plane trip for sure. I’m glad we went. I was able to keep my Chronic Migraines to a low roar and actually hiked, got in some sight-seeing and spent quality time together.

I would like to plan another vacation like that. By car of course, when these new rounds of treatments are done and see what effect they have on me. Until then we will plan quick jaunts around the neighboring towns doing errands and watching movies at home since they TV can be turned down, for the most part, to a reasonable level. One day I hope to be able to go to the movies again and enjoy a show there without having to worry about the movement on the screen, loud noise, and uncontrollable temperature-its either too hot in the winter or too cold in the summer. Always be prepared though. Take a sweater in the summer you can take off and put on easily, and in the winter take a light weight coat that you can also take off easily and wear a regular shirt-not a sweatshirt or sweater. And of course take ear plugs just in case.

Learn more about the MHAM Blog Challenge and 

Other MHAM events by visiting:

2013 Migraine & Headache Awareness Month Information Page

June, Migraine and Headache Awareness Month, is dedicated to Unmasking the Mystery of Chronic Headache Disorders. The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is issued by FightingHeadacheDisorders.com.

Leave a Reply

