#MHAMBC Migraine & Headache Awareness Month #14: Temple Grandin: “A school bell sounded like a dentist drill going through my ears”: Many of us have wondered to ourselves, must you live so loudly? How do you cope with phonophobia (noise sensitivity)?

June Migraine awareness month

I have gotten behind on my blogging due to an extended Migraine cycle, so I am trying to catch up. Due to recent tragic events In the CMA Community, it is more important than ever to get the word out so that people understand Chronic Migraine Disease.

 

How does one with Migraine Disease and phonophobia deal with this sometimes obnoxiously loud world. During a Migraine Attack I am more sensitive to sounds than usual and I have to resort to ear plugs, or semi-silencing earmuffs to try to block out the excessive noise, as it makes it feel like daggers going through the head. I try to keep myself from loud places but sometimes it’s impossible. So I do travel with earplugs all the time for when I need them.

At home it’s difficult as well. When my daughter and husband are gone I have the TV off and it’s blissfully silent-except for one of the dogs going into a barking fit (ouch). But as soon as they come home they have to turn on the TV like they cannot live without it and blast up the volume and leave the room? So I either turn it off or turn it down. When they come back up goes the volume again. So even at home I cannot avoid noise, even though I find myself repeating what they already know-turn it down it hurts please! I resort to ear plugs or leave the room if it’s too much. When I’m cooking and use my stand mixer I have to use earplugs plus those earmuffs as it’s pretty noisy but some things I cannot do without my mixer. Same when it comes to running the vacuum-earplugs and earmuffs.

In the car I have the stereo turned off. I cannot tolerate the noise. But if my husband or daughter are driving they have to have it on. My daughter has hers loud but has slowly learned to turn it down, but not by much- earplugs. My husband has learned to turn down his stereo, Thank God! I can listen to my iPod sometimes but at the lowest setting possible and then it’s to listen to my meditation music or Binaural Beats music.

Learn more about the MHAM Blog Challenge and 

Other MHAM events by visiting:

2013 Migraine & Headache Awareness Month Information Page

June, Migraine and Headache Awareness Month, is dedicated to Unmasking the Mystery of Chronic Headache Disorders. The Migraine and Headache Awareness Month Blog Challenge is issued by FightingHeadacheDisorders.com.

Leave a Reply

