Short answers in questions I get on this WordPress Layout (this is a very short post)

5-14-13

I get a lot of questions on what theme and layout I’m using. I am using the free version and this theme is Dusk to Dawn. When you go in to set it up you can select layout options to where you can have the menu on the LH or RH side and the background color. Then you select the widgets that are available for the free version and you drag them to the RH or LH menu position you chose. You can also go into settings and customize the background picture and status picture from what you have saved in your pictures folder or downloaded from the web. This makes the site more custom and unique. You pick out your blog name 1st before it lets you go into any themes to set up, and set up your account and username along with password. When your done for the day save all your work and be sure you log out-if you stay logged in even with the browser closed it could open you up as a target for hacking if anyone can get past your firewall and virus settings.

For getting comments to show you have to go into the actual settings of your blog each day and sort through what was caught by spam and see if you want to approve them. Once you approve them you can go to that page and reply. Also you will get an email to notify you of any new comments to moderate that were not caught by Spam. I have over 3,000 messages caught by Spam and I’m debating if I want to continue to go through them all and sort them as it’s very daunting task.

You do not need any programming experience to do this free version of WordPress. It’s pretty easy to set up and customize as they guide you through it. I’ve not had much experience on this as I’ve only been doing it since late fall 2012 and I have no prior writing experience other than way, way back in high school. I would often get marked down on book reports because I made them too long-I just loved reading books and got a lot of information from them and didn’t want to leave out anything I thought was important. So I reluctantly learned to size them down to get my better grades. When I worked on the then small town ambulance service I was always stuck doing the paperwork to write up all the information that happened on each run. Everyone liked my attention to detail and I admit I got carried away and made them too long. But in life and death situations and not knowing if one call could turn into a lawsuit down the road (not saying we were bad, just that people around that time were getting sue happy) so more detail was better than less detail.

That is really all I have to share on information on the layout, the template, the customization, comments and blogging/writing experience.

Until next time Blessings for a pain free day. Julie

 

2 thoughts on “Short answers in questions I get on this WordPress Layout (this is a very short post)

  1. Pingback: WordPress Wish List Part 2 | Side Quest Publications

Leave a Reply

