Healthier Gluten Free Carrot Cake

My healthier Gluten Free version of my carrot cake went live on this Migraine support site. They are gathering Migraine and Gluten free recipes to make a Migraine safe cookbook. If you have a recipe to submit you can do so-there is a link at the bottom of the page how to sign in and proceed from there.
(PS-if you don’t suffer from Migraines or have a nut allergy, add 1 cup of chopped walnuts to the cake batter when you mix in the additional ingredients.)

When you suffer from Chronic Migraines it’s hard to find ready to eat items at the store. I have been finding ways to alter traditional recipes to make them healthier and Migraine friendly. I added the gluten-free because my husband has Celiac, and the Gluten free flour mix I use is Red Bob Mills All Purpose Baking Flour Mix. I think I got that title right-I’m trying to type w/o my glasses. Fibro and Migraine Fog double time today. I cannot find my glasses anywhere nor can I remember where I last had them. So I’m typing this 1/2 blind. But instead of using vegetable oil I use unsweetened applesauce. For the sugar sometimes I will use raw sugar. I make sure everything I use does not have a hidden source of Soy or MSG as it’s a trigger, as well as nuts-that is why I omitted them in the original recipe but if that is not your trigger adding walnuts makes it tastier and I will finely chop some and cover the top of the frosting before serving. Then I know I can’t have any or leave a section clear of nuts so I can. Nuts have a high source of natural occurring Tyramine and if you follow the NHF or Diamond Clinic Low Tyramine Diet for migraine prevention nuts is on the list of no-no’s.

But even with the applesauce this cake is moist. I use an oblong cake pan with a clear lid when storing. It must be refrigerated after the 1st day as there are preservatives or chemicals in there to give it a longer shelf life. I hope you enjoy it. My husband and daughter do as does my best friend.

http://www.relieve-migraine-headache.com/carrot-cake-with-cream-cheese-frosting.html

 

553724_427515340597377_388071649_n559161_502051313143779_1803542682_n

 

When you get a chance check out this site and get my recipe.

Until next time be happy, healthy and have a pain free day.

46 thoughts on “Healthier Gluten Free Carrot Cake

  1. I simply want to mention I’m new to blogging and really enjoyed your blog site. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You definitely have terrific articles. Many thanks for sharing your web site.

    • Thank you so much for your positive feedback, your kind words and for visiting my page. Blessings to you for a pain free day. Julie

  2. I just want to tell you that I am just all new to weblog and really loved your web blog. Probably I’m going to bookmark your blog . You certainly have beneficial stories. Cheers for sharing with us your website page.

    • Thank you so much for your positive feedback, your kind words and for visiting my page. Blessings to you for a pain free day. Julie

  3. The post features confirmed useful to us. It’s very useful and you
    really are clearly really well-informed in this region.
    You possess opened up my personal eyes to various opinion of this subject matter using intriquing,
    notable and strong content material.

  4. Simply, admirable what you will have executed here. It’s pleasing to look you express from the center and your readability on this important content will be simply looked. Exceptional publish and will sit up for your future update.

    • Thank you so much for your positive feedback, your kind words and for visiting my page. Blessings to you for a pain free day. Julie

    • Thank you so much for your positive feedback, your kind words and for visiting my page. Blessings to you for a pain free day. Julie

    • Thank you so much for your positive feedback, your kind words and for visiting my page. Blessings to you for a pain free day. Julie

    • Thank you so much for your positive feedback, your kind words and for visiting my page. Blessings to you for a pain free day. Julie

    • Thank you so much for your positive feedback, your kind words and for visiting my page. Blessings to you for a pain free day. Julie

  5. What i don’t realize is actually how you are not really a lot more smartly-favored than you may be right now. You are very intelligent. You realize thus considerably in terms of this topic, made me individually believe it from so many varied angles. Its like men and women are not interested except it is one thing to accomplish with Girl gaga! Your personal stuffs great. At all times deal with it up!

  6. Hey, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your website in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, fantastic blog!

    • Thank you for your positive feedback and encouraging comments. I’m nor sure what to make of the issues you are having. This blog is composed and maintained on IE 9. Could that be the problem maybe? I’m not that tech savvy so I’m not sure what to suggest. Sorry for the problems your having. I hope they are resolved soon. Computers can be pretty temperamental. Blessings sent to you for a pain free day. Julie

  7. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this fantastic blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will share this website with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

    • Aww, your too kind. Thank you for your positive feedback, kind words and encouraging comments. Blessings sent to you for a pain free day. Julie

  8. This consistently amazes me precisely how bloggers for instance yourself can obtain some time as well as the dedication to carry on producing great blogposts. Your weblog isgood and a single of my personal have to read weblogs. I just wanted to thank you.

  9. After exploring a handful of the blog posts on your weblog, I beyond doubt approximating your strategy of blogging. I saved it to my bookmark site catalog and will maybe be read-through again surrounded by the virtually future. Desire go to my internetsite too and inform me your opinion.

    • Thank you for your positive feedback, kind words and encouraging comments. Please send me your website address and I’ll be happy to check it out. Blessings sent to you for a pain free day. Julie

  10. Pretty safe place of duty. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wished to utter that I’ve actually enjoyed reading your blog posts. One means I’ll live subscribing to your feed at the present, thanks.

  11. You completed a number of earliest rank points near. I seemed on the internet for the deliver and establish a large amount community will get together with along with your website.

Leave a Reply

